Glenbow Museum - Where the World Meets the West

Skip the navigation
Your Search Found 1 Records
Pages: | |

Title:
New Walrond Ranche Company Ltd. fonds

Date(s):
1883-1957

Physical Description:
66 cm of textual records

History:
The Walrond Cattle Ranch Ltd. was established in 1883 by Duncan McNab McEachran of Montreal, with financial backing predominantly from Sir John Walrond-Walrond (1818-1889) of England. 260,000 acres (104,000 ha) of land were leased between the Old Man River and the Porcupine Hills in southern Alberta. The ranch was stocked with about 8500 head of Hereford and Polled Angus cattle brought up from Montana, USA. The company was run from the head office in England until 1897, when the New Walrond Ranche Company Ltd. was formed, with McEachran as both president and general manager. Land holdings increased to over 300,000 acres (120,000 ha). The ranch ceased active operation in 1908, and the cattle were sold to Pat Burns. Most of the land was leased first to W.R. Hull and later Pat Burns and various portions were sold to Frank Lynch-Staunton, George Porter and the King Brothers. In 1946 J. R. Miller purchased the remaining lands and in 1953 he sold them to a group which included D. N. Cundy, C. T. Harvey and A. Dorigatti. Their firm, Waldron Ranches Ltd., officially changed the name to Waldron and repurchased the lands owned by George Porter. Calgary businessman Wilbur Griffith, 1902-2004, briefly owned the ranch in the early 1960s but sold to the Waldron Grazing Cooperative in 1962. For further information see Somebody Else's Money : The Walrond Ranch Story, 1883-1907 / Warren Elofson. -- Calgary : University of Calgary Press, 2009.

Scope and Content:
The fonds consists of annual reports (1904, 1912-1923); prospectus of New Walrond Ranche (1898); letterbooks (1887-1915); inventories of "moveable effects" (1890-1907); daily journals (1886-1922); financial records and contracts (1883-1912, 1922); livestock records (1885-1919); township plans and topographical maps (1897-1906, 1942); and meteorological records (1916-1957).

Source of Acquisition:
Gifts of H. Lefevre, William Fleming, Mrs. A.J. MacGowan, and Wilbur Griffith 1960-1999.

Language:
The material is in English.

Restrictions:
No restrictions on access.

Finding Aids:
Inventory available. Please consult before requesting material.

View finding aid / scanned documents:
http://www.glenbow.org/collections/search/findingAids/archhtm/walrond.cfm

Call Numbers:
(M=manuscript; N&P=photos; R=sound recordings; S=slides; F=films)
M-8688, M-264-vol.1, M-3355

Pages: | |

Home | Membership | Glenbow Museum Shop | Site Map | Copyright | Privacy | Contact Us
© Glenbow Museum, 130 - 9th Avenue S.E., Calgary, Alberta, Canada T2G 0P3 - www.glenbow.org