McDermid Studio fonds
ca. 17,000 photographs
McDermid Engraving Company, a photography and engraving business, was established in 1913 by Frederick Glen McDermid, 1880-?, and Charles Robert Morrison, ?-1940, at 123 Rice Street, Edmonton. Frederick was managing director while Charles continued as editor of the Edmonton Journal where he had worked since ca. 1909. The studio did engraving and etching for the Journal. In 1917 the company bought the assets of the Byron-May Company, a photo-engraving company established ca. 1906 by Percy C. Byron, 1878-1959, (managing director) and Gustave H. May (secretary) at 623-1st Street. McDermid Engraving moved to 10133-101st Street in 1922. In the following year it was renamed The McDermid Studio Ltd., and Frederick resigned as president and moved to California, USA. He had married Emma Marie Ahrens, and they had one daughter Virginia Grace, 1917-. Joseph Tyrell became manager soon after. In 1929 Charles gained control of the company, became its president and resigned from the newspaper. Charles's daughter, Muriel, took over the company in 1940 and her husband, Bert C. Hollingshead, became manager. The studio moved to 10024-101st Street, and later to 9850-112th Street. By the 1960s the studio had expanded into offset printing. After 1969 it was operated by Muriel's son, David, and later taken over by his daughter, Gay, and her husband, Mark Perry.
Scope and Content:
The fonds consists of photographs from Byron-May studio (1909-1916) and McDermid studio (1912-1929) of Edmonton businesses, buildings, industry, institutions, exhibitions, personalities, sports events and agriculture, ranching and oil and gas wells in surrounding areas such as Peace River and Grande Prairie. Also consists of McDermid photographs of Edmonton unemployed, demonstrations and political figures during the Depression, Second World War parades, local events, military groups, and the post-Second World War building construction and oil boom in Edmonton and area (ca. 1919-1967). Includes photographs of Percy Byron and Byron-May staff (1913-1914), and Frederick McDermid and McDermid staff and studio (1913-1940, 1950).
Source of Acquisition:
Purchased and gift from McDermid Studios, 1957-1972.
The material is in English.
Originals and Reproductions:
Reference prints from some original negatives are available at Glenbow.
Some of the negatives are restricted due to fragile condition.
Inventory available. Please consult before requesting material.
View finding aid / scanned documents:
(M=manuscript; N&P=photos; R=sound recordings; S=slides; F=films)
PA 51, PA 83, PA 338, PD 6, NA 166, NA 200, NA 679, NA 765, NA 956, NA 969, NA 1102, NA 1201, NA 1328, NA 1514, NA 1539, NA 1560, NA 1881, NA 1969, NA 2064, NA 2106, NA 2260, NA 4282, NB 11, NC 6, ND 3, NE 1, NF 1, NF 39