Lethbridge Collieries Ltd. fonds
1912-1976, predominant 1935-1975
3.5 m of textual records. -- 81 mine plans
Lethbridge Collieries Limited was incorporated in March 1935 for the purpose of taking over the assets of the Alberta Railway and Irrigation Company (Galt Mines), Royalties Oil and Share Corporation (Coalhurst Mine) and the Cadillac Coal Company Ltd. (Standard Mine). In December 1935 a serious explosion in the Coalhurst mine led to its closure. The Galt No. 8 and the Standard mines operated until February 8, 1957 when, due to the inroads of petroleum products in the marketplace, No. 8 was closed. The Standard Mine was renamed Galt No. 10 and operated until January 1965. A carbonizing unit near Galt No. 10 operated until late 1966. In July 1967 Canadian Pacific Oil and Gas Limited (of which Lethbridge Collieries was a wholly-owned subsidiary) began coal exploration in British Columbia. The workforce of Lethbridge Collieries was diverted to this project. The company was dissolved on January 31, 1976.
Scope and Content:
The fonds consists of presidents', general-managers', secretaries' and treasurers' files, and mine plans.
Source of Acquisition:
Gift of Fording Coal, 1990.
The material is in English.
No restrictions on access.
Inventory available. Please consult before requesting material.
View finding aid / scanned documents:
(M=manuscript; N&P=photos; R=sound recordings; S=slides; F=films)