Calgary Herald fonds
1886-1988, predominant 1928-1988
159.9 m of photographs. -- 80 cm of textual records. -- 5 maps
The Calgary Herald newspaper in Calgary, Alberta began as a weekly paper, the Calgary Herald, Mining and Ranche Advocate and General Advertiser, on August 31, 1883. It was published by Andrew M. Armour and Thomas B. Braden until November 26, 1884 when Hugh St. Quentin Cayley and his Herald Printing and Publishing Co. took over. Cayley also began publishing the Calgary Daily Herald, a daily version of the newspaper, on July 2, 1885. The publisher's name was changed to Herald Publishing Co. Ltd. in 1888, and in January 1908, the Southam Company purchased a majority interest. From February 1890 to August 1893 and December 1894 to September 1895, the weekly paper appeared as the Wednesday issue of the daily paper. Publication of the daily paper was suspended between September 21, 1893 and December 13, 1894. The weekly paper appeared under various names throughout its history, and ceased publication on September 29, 1932. The daily's name was changed to the Calgary Herald in February 1939, and continues to be published. For further information see Diane Howard's entry, "Calgary Herald", in Encyclopedia of the Great Plains / James R. Wishart, ed. -- Lincoln/London : University of Nebraska Press, 2004, p. 507-508; and From Canvas Walls to Marble Halls : A History of the First Thirty Years of the Calgary Herald / Sydney Suissa. -- unpublished BA Honours thesis, University of Calgary, 1983.
Scope and Content:
The fonds consists of published and unpublished news photographs (1886-1986) which include photographs of Calgary and Alberta events, personalities, buildings and sports teams; the southern Alberta oil industry; Calgary military personalities and views (1940s-1960s); and royal visits to Calgary (1951, 1953). Also consists of correspondence (1928-1965); financial records (1929-1970); union agreements (1947-1960); bylaw (1938); and property inventory (1913). Includes essays entered by Calgary pioneers in a Herald competition (1970); sketches, plans and maps of Calgary areas and buildings (1956-1961); miscellaneous programs, bulletins and newsclippings, and reference material.
Source of Acquisition:
Gifts of the Calgary Herald and Ronald C. Kenney, 1960-1993.
The material is in English.
No restrictions on access.
Limited subject indexes for the photos are available for 1940s- late 1960s. Date order listings are available for late 1960s-1982. 1000 photos from the 1970s have been scanned and are available via the link below.
View finding aid / scanned documents:
The Calgary Herald, 1883-1954, is available on microfilm at the Glenbow.
Further additions to the photos are expected.
(M=manuscript; N&P=photos; R=sound recordings; S=slides; F=films)
M-1618, M-1619, M-1620, M-1622 files 3-11, M-1623 os, M-1624, M-2932 os, M-2936, M-2944, M-4351, M-4638, M-6106, M-6735, M-7660, PA-242, PA-737, PA-849, PA-882, PA-995, PA-1222, PA-1440, PA-1599, PA-1914, PB-212, PB-336, PC-56, PD-105, PE-24, PE-46, NA-276, NA-278, NA-431, NA-450, NA-460, NA-828, NA-967, NA-1055, NA-1079, NA-1491, NA 1562, NA 2557, NA 2733, NA 2864, NA 3253, NA 3880, NA 4493, S 64, S 76