Calgary Convention and Visitors Bureau fonds
2 m of textual records. -- ca. 30 photographs. -- ca. 20 films
The Calgary Convention and Visitors Bureau of Calgary, Alberta was incorporated as the Calgary Tourist and Convention Association in 1957. The name was changed to Calgary Tourist and Convention Bureau in 1982 and Calgary Convention and Visitors Bureau in 1990. Kennett Lyle was the first chairman of the association which was dedicated to the promotion of Calgary, Alberta as a tourist destination. The Association adopted the white hat as its symbol and presents annual White Hatter awards for excellence in hospitality services. The bureau was housed on 9th Avenue and Centre Street, 1957-1960, Mewata Park,1960-1985, and in the Burns Building after 1985. In August 2001 the bureau changed its name to Tourism Calgary. For further information see Historical Progress / Calgary Convention and Visitors Bureau. -- Calgary : Calgary Convention and Visitors Bureau, 1997.
Scope and Content:
The fonds consists of historical accounts, annual reports, photographs and other material.
Source of Acquisition:
Gift of Calgary Convention and Visitors Bureau/Tourism Calgary, 1998-2001.
The material is in English.
No restrictions on access.
Inventory available. Please consult before requesting material.
View finding aid / scanned documents:
Further additions expected.
(M=manuscript; N&P=photos; R=sound recordings; S=slides; F=films)
M 8607, F 174