Archdeacon J.W. Tims family fonds
1857-1964, predominant 1879-1945
1.25 m of textual records. -- 812 photographs. -- 619 lantern slides. -- 1 audio cassette
John William Tims, 1857-1945, was born in England. He trained in London at the Church Missionary Training College (Anglican) and was ordained in St. Paul's Cathedral in 1883. He was immediately sent by the Church Missionary Society to Blackfoot Crossing in the North-West Territories (now Alberta) as the first Anglican missionary on the Blackfoot (Siksika) reserve. During his twelve years among the Blackfoot, he established Old Sun Industrial School and wrote a dictionary of the Blackfoot language. In 1890, he married Violet Winifred Wood, 1867-1945, daughter of an English clergyman. They had three children, Winifred Agnes, 1891-1947, John Reginald, 1893-1981, and Sydney Christopher, 1895-1982. Violet was very active in the missionary work of her husband. In 1895 Tims exchanged missions with Canon H.W.G. Stocken and moved to the Sarcee (Tsuu T'ina) reserve, where he served for 35 years. In 1895, he also was appointed Archdeacon of Macleod, which included responsibility for all work with native peoples in the Diocese of Calgary. In 1916 he became Incumbent for St. Paul's at Fish Creek, St. Peter's at Glenmore, and All Saints' at Red Deer Lake. In 1927 he was appointed Archdeacon of Calgary. The Tims moved to Calgary in 1930 when they retired. For further information see "Tims and Trivett : The Struggle for Conversion of the Siksika Indians" / John J. Cournane. -- Edmonton : unpublished BA Honours thesis, University of Alberta, 1995; and "John Williams Tims" in Rogues and Rebels : Unforgettable Characters from Western Canada's Past / Brian Brennan. -- Regina : University of Regina Press, 2015.
Scope and Content:
The fonds consists of Archdeacon Tims' diaries(1879-1894, 1898-1899, 1901, 1906-1908, 1911-1916, 1919, 1921-1940), notebooks, correspondence, speeches, articles, reports, certificates, and Blackfoot and Sarcee language papers, including Jean L'Heureux's English / Blackfoot dictionary; Winifred Tims' correspondence, articles and school papers; J. Reginald Tims' correspondence, certificates and interview re father; family newsclippings, scrapbooks, programs and greeting cards; extensive photographs of native peoples, family and mission work; and lantern slides used by Rev. Tims for religious and educational purposes, including 207 views of the Blood, Blackfoot, Peigan, and Sarcee (Tsuu T'ina) reserves. Includes statistics, accounts, plans, annual returns etc. of various native missions and churches in which Tims was active, and the 1923 diary of W.R. Haynes, the missionary at Brocket.
RECORDS RELATED TO THE FOLLOWING SUBJECTS ARE ALSO IN THIS FONDS. SEE INVENTORY FOR DETAILS: James Big Plume, John L. Bowen, Mrs. H.E. Downe, Gleichen, F.W. Godsal, Canon Gould, Joshua Hinchcliffe, John W. House, Charles Jackson, Allan McGibbon, Bishop John McLean, Bishop Pinkham, poetry, Red Crow, Canon Stocken, Bishop Isaac O. Stringer, Rev. Frank Swainson, Winnifred Thompson, and Samuel Trivett.
Source of Acquisition:
Gift of and purchased from J. Reg Tims, gift of Mrs. Richard Banford, and purchased from David Crowchild, 1958-1973.
The material is predominantly in English, but a small portion is in Blackfoot and Sarcee (Tsuu T'ina).
No restrictions on access.
Inventory available. Please consult before requesting material.
View finding aid / scanned documents:
Tims' Blackfoot-English dictionary is in the Glenbow Library (call number 497.3 T 586g).
(M=manuscript; N&P=photos; R=sound recordings; S=slides; F=films)
M-1233, M-1234, M-1235, M-4418, M-4419, RCT-106, PA-124, PA-1626, PD-9, PD-122, NA-127, NA-134, NA-159, NA-192, NA-356, NA-516, NA-641, NA-754, NA-896, NA-1020, NA-1033, NA-1645, NA-1666, NA-1875, NA-1934, NA-2164, NA-3002, S-18