United Mine Workers of America. Local 2633 fonds
1912-1979, predominant 1932-1979
1.5 m of textual records
Coleman (Alberta) Local 2633 of UMWA was formed in 1903, when 18 men assembled for an organizational meeting. In 1905 the local decided to build a 17 bed hospital, in conjunction with Carbondale Local 2227. The Miners' Hospital in Coleman was opened in 1906 and served the people of the area until 1949. District 18 of UMWA, of which Coleman Local was a part, virtually disintegrated by 1925 due to its left-wing political activities, which were not approved of by the head office. Coleman Local 2633 ceased to exist. The Mine Workers Union of Canada then tried to supplant the UMWA in the Crowsnest Pass. Coleman miners reluctantly joined a MWUC strike in March of 1932, but in May broke with MWUC to form the Coleman Miners' Association, an independent union. UMWA began to rebuild their shattered District 18 in the late 1930s, and the Coleman Miners' Association rejoined as Local 2633 in 1939. The union's primary concern at present is the welfare of its members.
Scope and Content:
The fonds consists of minutes, correspondence, membership lists, financial records, mine accidents log books, welfare and retirement fund correspondence, alphabetically-arranged members' case files, and architectural plans for Miners' Hospital renovations. Includes records of the Coleman Miners' Association, and correspondence of District 18 executive members, Edward Boyd, A. Leslie, R. Livett, J. Stokaluk, and M.P. Susnar. Also includes Coleman Opera House accounts (1912-1925), and architectural plans for Calgary's Westminster apartments (1911).
Source of Acquisition:
Gift of UMWA, Local 2633, 1981.
The material is in English.
No restrictions on access.
Inventory available. Please consult before requesting material.
View finding aid / scanned documents:
Further additions expected.
(M=manuscript; N&P=photos; R=sound recordings; S=slides; F=films)