Town of Pincher Creek fonds
1.33 m of textual records. -- 27 aerial photographs
In 1878 Colonel Macleod of the North-West Mounted Police (NWMP) sent a detachment of his men from Fort Macleod, Alberta into the foothills to the west to establish a post and farm. The post was named Pincher Creek. In 1882 the townsite was laid out, and it was incorporated as the Town of Pincher Creek on May 12, 1906. J.H. McEachern was the first mayor. The town hall was erected in 1913 and housed the town offices, jail, public library, fire brigade and scout hall.
Most of these records were salvaged from the Pincher Creek dump by Phillip Myles ca. 1979, and donated to the Glenbow in 1989. The James McKay files came to Glenbow with the Pincher Creek School Division records, since McKay was both the Division superintendent and a member of the town council.
Scope and Content:
The fonds consists of bylaws (1909-1911); general correspondence (1911-1919); election records (1912-1919); waterworks and sewer records (1914-1915, 1951-1962); influenza epidemic records (1918-1919); register of town lots (1940-1942); general ledgers (1909-1915, 1941-1950); audited financial statements (1913-1914, 1918, 1934-1937); town plans (ca. 1910-1917, 1957); aerial photographs (1953); and miscellany (1899-1963). Includes minutes of the Pincher Creek Public Library (1949-1963) and the Home and School Association (1963-1965), and correspondence of the Boy Scout troop (1949-1953).
Source of Acquisition:
Gifts of Phillip Myles and the Pincher Creek School Division, 1988-1989.
The material is in English.
No restrictions on access.
Inventory available. Please consult before requesting material.
View finding aid / scanned documents:
Audited financial statements (1927, 1933, 1938-1941) are in the Pincher Creek Echo fonds at Glenbow.
(M=manuscript; N&P=photos; R=sound recordings; S=slides; F=films)