Robin Hood Flour Mills Ltd. (Calgary) fonds
1.18 m of textual records. -- 54 architectural plans. -- 25 photographs
The International Milling Company was founded by F.A. Bean in Minnesota, USA in 1892. It first moved into Canada in 1908, with the purchase of a Moose Jaw mill. In 1912, IMC bought out the Calgary Milling Company in Calgary, Alberta and renamed it Robin Hood Mills Ltd. (Calgary). The parent company systematically expanded throughout Canada, and by 1940, had warehouse and dock facilities in both Vancouver, British Columbia and Fort William, Ontario, mills in Quebec, Ontario, Saskatchewan and Alberta, as well as farm land in Saskatchewan managed by its subsidiary F.A. Bean Farms Ltd. In 1938, the name of the Canadian operations was changed from Robin Hood Mills Ltd. to Robin Hood Flour Mills Ltd. In 1942, the Calgary mill had a capacity of 2000 barrels a day and elevator storage for over one million bushels. It was closed in 1969 due to financial problems of the parent company. The mill was used as a storage warehouse until the buildings and site were donated to the City of Calgary in 1971.
Scope and Content:
The fonds consists of business correspondence, financial records, legal agreements and contracts, mill workbooks, flour inventories, photographs of the mill, and architectural plans of warehouses, mills, grain elevators and railway sidings. Includes minute book and stock certificate book of F.A. Bean Farms Ltd. (1916-1956), and Calgary Milling Company cookbook (1910).
Source of Acquisition:
Gifts of Robin Hood Multifoods Ltd. and Mr. M.N. Herrington, 1969-1992.
The material is in English.
No restrictions on access.
Inventory available. Please consult before requesting material.
View finding aid / scanned documents:
(M=manuscript; N&P=photos; R=sound recordings; S=slides; F=films)
M-1545, M-2437, M-6546, PD-287, NA-1975