Pincher Creek School Division No. 29 fonds
39.7 m of textual records. -- 31 photographs. -- 9 architectural plans. -- 51 microfiches
The first school in the Pincher Creek area was opened in 1884, but it was not until 1888 that the Pincher Creek School District No. 121 was incorporated under the laws of the North-West Territories. From the 1880s to 1932, 47 other school districts were established in the region. These consisted almost exclusively of one-room schools. In late 1938 these districts were joined to form the Pincher Creek School Division No. 29. The towns of Pincher Creek and Cowley were not included in the division until 1947. In 1941 a dormitory was established in Pincher Creek for students who wished to attend High School. It was used until the early 1960s, when centralization and improved bus service made boarding unnecessary. By 1960 most of the outlying one-room and two-room schools had been closed in favour of larger centralized schools in Pincher Creek, Cowley, and Lundbreck. At the end of 1994 PCSD became part of the newly-created Livingstone Range School Division. For further information see Unfolding the Pages : Recollections of Education in the Pincher Creek Area / Pincher Creek School Division No. 29. - Pincher Creek : Gorman & Gorman Ltd., 1992; and Willow Valley School, 1914-2014, 100 years of Learning and Community Spirit / Wendy Davies. -- Lundbreck : Wendy Davies, 2014.
Scope and Content:
The fonds consists of minutes, attendance registers and cashbooks of the original school districts, and minutes, attendance registers, secretary - treasurers' files, superintendents' files, Early childhood Services records, financial records for the amalgamated school division, and scrapbooks. Includes architectural plans of schools and teacherages, and photographs of schools and pupils.
RECORDS RELATED TO THE FOLLOWING SCHOOL DISTRICTS ARE IN THIS FONDS. SEE INVENTORY FOR DETAILS: Ashvale, Beauvais, Beaver Mines, Bellevue-Hillcrest, Blairmore, Brocket, Burmis, Burmis Camp, Chapel Rock, Chipman Creek, Clear Brook, Coalfields, Coleman, Cowley, Crook, Cyr, Drywood, Fir Grove, Fishburn, Frank, Gadshill, Gladstone Valley, Halifax, Heath Creek, Hillcrest Mines, Hillsboro, Johnson's Mill Private, Lee, Lundbreck, Marr (Mars), Marr Roman Catholic, Maycroft, Millview, New Yarrow, North Fork, Olin Creek, Ortin, Parkview, Passburg, Pincher City, Pincher Creek (Canyon, Central, Matthew Halton), Robert Kerr, Rocky Coulee, St. Michael's Roman Catholic, Spread Eagle, Spring Point Hutterite, Spring Ridge, Summerview, Sunset Hutterite, Tanner, Tennessee, Tennyson, Todd Creek, Twin Butte, Utopia, Waldron (Walrond), Waterton Hutterite, Waterton Park, and Willow Valley.
RECORDS RELATED TO THE FOLLOWING SUBJECTS ARE ALSO IN THIS FONDS. SEE INVENTORY FOR DETAILS: Alberta School Trustees' Association, Alberta Teachers' Association, Chinook Health Unit, C.H. Dyer, C.H. Emard, home economics, industrial arts, Lethbridge Junior College, James A. McKay, Macleod-Pincher Creek Health District, O.L. Matson, National Film Board, Peigan, Municipal District of Pincher Creek, Pincher Creek Recreation Board, Southern Alberta School Authorities, Southwestern Alberta Teachers' Association, K.H. Thompson, truancy, and University of Lethbridge.
Source of Acquisition:
Gift of Pincher Creek School Division No. 29, 1978-1992, and Livingstone Range Schhol Division No. 68, 1996.
The material is in English.
No restrictions on access.
Inventory available. Please consult before requesting material.
View finding aid / scanned documents:
Records of Fishburn School District and Utopia School District, original districts which became part of the division, are held by the Pincher Creek and District Historical Society.
An essay, "The teacher experience : Pincher Creek School Division No. 29, 1949-1955" by Donna Hicks is located at M-7994.
(M=manuscript; N&P=photos; R=sound recordings; S=slides; F=films)
M-2017, PA-3092, Microfiche PCSD