Municipality of Crowsnest Pass fonds
Microfilmed 1987 (originally created 1905-1986)
The Municipality of Crowsnest Pass was created on January 1, 1979 with the amalgamation of the towns of Bellevue, Coleman, Frank and Blairmore, and the surrounding Improvement District No. 5. The purpose of the merger was to pool resources and reduce duplication of services for the 7500 local residents. The Municipality stretches 20 kilometres along one of the three railway passes through the Canadian Rockies. The region's primary industry in the past was coal mining, but the last mine closed in the 1980s. The towns continue to be identified individually by the post office, highway signs and maps. The municipal office is in Coleman.
Scope and Content:
The fonds consists of council minutes for Coleman (1905-1978), Blairmore (1912-1978), Frank (1949-1958, 1968-1978), Bellevue (1957-1978), and the Municipality (1979-1986); bylaws (1979-1986); and financial statements (1978-1986). Includes Coleman Light and Water Company minutes (1935-1978) and Coleman Natural Gas Company minutes (1966-1978).
Source of Acquisition:
Purchased from the Municipality of Crowsnest Pass, 1987.
The material is in English.
Originals and Reproductions:
The originals are held by the Municipality.
No restrictions on access.
Inventory available. Please consult before requesting material.
View finding aid / scanned documents:
(M=manuscript; N&P=photos; R=sound recordings; S=slides; F=films)