Lethbridge Northern Irrigation District fonds
1900-1973, predominant 1920-1965
1.13 m of textual records
The Lethbridge Northern Irrigation District was formed in 1919 under the Irrigation Districts Act. It consists of 93,100 hectares of land on the north side of the Oldman River, between Fort Macleod and Turin, Alberta. About 52,600 hectares are irrigable and sugar beets are the major crop, although livestock and other crops are also raised. Construction of the system was completed in 1923, but the diversion works were destroyed that year in an unprecedented flood and had to be rebuilt. Originally managed by elected trustees, the district was administered by a provincial government trustee from 1926 to 1968. L.C. Charlesworth was the official trustee, 1926-1939. Penrose M. Sauder, who had been the LNID project manager from 1925 to 1939, served as official trustee from 1939 to 1965. C.J. McAndrews was official trustee from 1966 until an elected board once again resumed management in 1968. For further information see Just Add Water : The History of the Lethbridge Northern Irrigation District / Deborah F. Gregorash. -- Lethbridge : Lethbridge Northern Irrigation District, 1996.
Scope and Content:
The fonds consists of minutes, annual reports, correspondence, financial statements, lists of sugar beet growers, reports and newsclippings. Includes minutes and correspondence of the New West Irrigation District (1922-1953), and reports about the St. Mary-Milk River development, and Western Irrigation District.
Source of Acquisition:
Gift of LNID and the Western Irrigation District, 1965-1973.
The material is in English.
No restrictions on access.
Inventory available. Please consult before requesting material.
View finding aid / scanned documents:
Other LNID records are held by the Provincial Archives of Alberta.
(M=manuscript; N&P=photos; R=sound recordings; S=slides; F=films)
M 2273 files 314-326, M 2408 files 1-21, 23-68 and o.s.