King George Hotel fonds
1.07 m of textual records
The King George Hotel, opened in Calgary, Alberta in December of 1911, was built by Charles Bell and Joseph Schiessel. It was located at 126-9th Avenue SE and had 107 rooms, each serviced with hot water and a telephone. The hotel had a popular grill, a barbershop and a manicurist. It was purchased by Hughes and Cory in 1926 and renamed the Carlton Hotel. It was subsequently run by the Traunweisers and Kueflers before being demolished in 1978.
Scope and Content:
The fonds consists of a guest register (1912); alphabetical index to guests and their forwarding addresses (1912-[ca. 1926]; guest account books including charges for rooms, food and other services (1912-1920); ledgers, financial journals, and balance sheets (1912-1920); and a staff time book, wine cellar stock book, and menu for Thanksgiving dinner. Includes a ledger of the Royal Hotel (1908-1913), which was also owned by Charles Bell.
Source of Acquisition:
Gifts of Bart Kuefler, C. Leadbetter and Joe Stewart, 1973-1978.
The material is in English.
No restrictions on access.
Inventory available. Please consult before requesting material.
View finding aid / scanned documents:
(M=manuscript; N&P=photos; R=sound recordings; S=slides; F=films)
M 1607, M 1612