John Gillespie fonds
Copied 1965 (originally created 1893-1931)
3 microfilm reels. -- 11 photographs
John Gillespie, 1858-1931, was born in Scotland. He came to Canada at age 23, and to Calgary, Alberta as a stone mason in 1893. He founded a contracting firm which built Central United Church, the Land Titles building and the Normal School. In 1910 he moved to Edmonton to take charge of the erection of the Legislature Buildings and was appointed the Chief Inspector of Masonry for the provincial Department of Public Works. He also worked on the Court House, Land Titles building and Government House in Edmonton. In 1915 he began working for the City of Calgary as head of maintenance for public buildings. In 1925 he was appointed the provincial Factories Inspector for Calgary.
Scope and Content:
The fonds consists of diaries regarding personal affairs and work as a stone mason and factories inspector (1893-1931); business account book (1914); notebook of prices and diagrams for Legislature Buildings (nd); and photographs of early Calgary and construction of the Legislature. Includes information about the Glenbow Quarry.
The material is in English.
Originals and Reproductions:
The originals are held by Clifford Gillespie.
No restrictions on access.
Inventory available. Please consult before requesting material.
View finding aid / scanned documents:
(M=manuscript; N&P=photos; R=sound recordings; S=slides; F=films)
Microfilm- Gillespie, NA-1042