Hillhurst Baptist Church fonds
75 cm of textual records
Prior to 1908 Baptist Church members in Calgary, Alberta held meetings in private homes and organized a Sunday school in rooms above a store. In 1908 the Morleyville Road Baptist Church was built. Reverend D.A. Gunn, the first pastor, presided over 31 charter members. In 1911 the name of the church changed to the Hillhurst Baptist Church and in 1914 the building was enlarged. The adjoining Christian Education Building was added in 1958.
The papers were found in the basement of the church when it was vacated for Factory Theatre.
Scope and Content:
The fonds consists of constitution and bylaws, registers of baptisms, marriages and deaths (1930-1952), Deacon's Board minutes (1920-1926), correspondence, Women's Mission Circle minutes (1911-1962), financial statements and ledgers, calendars, church history, newsletters, and records about the construction of the Christian Education Building. Includes minutes and correspondence of the Calgary Baptist Ministerial Association (1927-1967).
Source of Acquisition:
Gift of Gary Engler, 1973.
The material is in English.
No restrictions on access.
Inventory available. Please consult before requesting material.
View finding aid / scanned documents:
(M=manuscript; N&P=photos; R=sound recordings; S=slides; F=films)