Gleichen Call fonds
12.5 cm of textual records. -- 300 posters
The Gleichen Call began publication in Gleichen, Alberta in 1907 under editor William Park Evans. In 1910 the name was changed to the Bow Valley Call, but once again became the Gleichen Call in 1914. W. Park Evans was publisher and editor until 1931, and George Evans from 1931 to 1956. The business did general printing jobs for the Gleichen district (including Armada, Arrowwood, Buffalo Hill, Carseland, Cluny, Hussar, Irricana, Lomond, Majorville, Meadowbrook, Milo, Mossleigh, Namaka, Queenstown and Quelletteville), as well as publish the newspaper.
Scope and Content:
The fonds consists of examples of printing jobs undertaken, including letterheads, business cards, programs, invitations, prize lists, advertisements and tickets; and posters for political meetings, auction sales, sports events (sports days, baseball, boxing, curling, hockey, rodeos, etc.), dances and balls, and various musical, theatrical and social events in the Gleichen area.
Source of Acquisition:
Gift of Mrs. George Evans, 1958.
The material is in English.
No restrictions on access.
Inventory available. Please consult before requesting material.
View finding aid / scanned documents:
The Gleichen Call newspaper, 1907-1956, is held by the Glenbow Library, and is also available on microfilm.
(M=manuscript; N&P=photos; R=sound recordings; S=slides; F=films)
M-1419, M-1420, M-1421, NA-3546