F.M. Thompson Company Ltd. fonds
2.25 m of textual records
F.M. Thompson Co. Ltd. was started in Lille, Alberta in 1908 by F.M. Thompson and F.M. Pinkney. When the coal mine in Lille closed in 1913, the partners were forced to close their store and relocate to Blairmore, Alberta, also in the Crowsnest Pass. They remained at this location from 1919 until the store closed in 1988. At first the store carried mainly grocery items and dry goods. In 1938 a meat department and a post office were added. In 1965 the entire grocery department was closed in favour of adding a large men's wear section. The store was always managed by family members including R.W. Harold Pinkney, Roland Pinkney, and Thelma, Clark and Fred Bradley.
Scope and Content:
The fonds consists of financial records, correspondence, income tax returns, advertisements and miscellaneous items.
Source of Acquisition:
Gift of Clark Bradley, 1979-1990.
The material is in English.
No restrictions on access.
Inventory available. Please consult before requesting material.
View finding aid / scanned documents:
(M=manuscript; N&P=photos; R=sound recordings; S=slides; F=films)