Eastern Rockies Forest Conservation Board fonds
42.5 cm of textual records
The Eastern Rockies Forest Conservation Board was established in 1947 by an Act of Parliament. The federal and Alberta governments agreed to make the board the administrator of the Rocky Mountains Forest Reserve. In 1950 the provincial government expanded the board's activities and gave it an advisory role in all provincial forest reserve decisions. The board, made up of three members including two provincial appointees and one federal, is administered by the Department of Energy, Mines and Resources. For further information see History of the Eastern Rockies Forest Conservation Board, 1947-1973 / W.R. Hanson. - Edmonton : Government of Alberta, 1973.
Scope and Content:
The fonds consists of correspondence regarding timber permits and berths; forest conservation unit guides; press releases regarding board activities; and proposed development reports.
RECORDS RELATED TO THE FOLLOWING SUBJECTS ARE ALSO IN THIS FONDS. SEE INVENTORY FOR DETAILS: Atlas Lumber Co., Blairmore Sawmills Ltd, Brazeau Collieries Ltd., Foothills Lumber Co., Fort Macleod, Nordegg, Pembina Pulpwood Co., Pincher Creek, Pincher Spruce Mills Ltd., Revelstoke Sawmills Ltd., Rocky Mountain House, Sundre Contracting Co., and Sundre Lumber Co.
Source of Acquisition:
Gift of T.R. Hourigan, 1970.
The material is in English.
No restrictions on access.
Inventory available. Please consult before requesting material.
View finding aid / scanned documents:
Other records of the board are at the Provincial Archives of Alberta.
(M=manuscript; N&P=photos; R=sound recordings; S=slides; F=films)