Christ Church fonds
48 cm of textual records. -- 2 video cassettes
Christ Church, an Anglican church, was built on Sheep Creek (now Millarville, Alberta) in 1896, although Anglican services had been held in the area since 1894. The church was erected under the leadership of Rev. R.M. Webb-Peploe and constructed of upright spruce logs by Charles Schacht. A rectory was built in 1908, and turned into a parish hall in 1938. A burial ground was consecrated in 1920. Long serving wardens have included Alfred Peter Welsh, William E. Deane-Freeman, F. Sinclair-Smith, R. Knights, Thomas Jameson and Hugh C. Macklin.
Scope and Content:
The fonds consists of minute book (1895-1950), register of baptisms, marriages and burials (1895-1936), register of marriages (1981-1992), registers of services (1894-1994), general correspondence (1907-1938), account books (1911-1975), correspondence and receipts related to accounts (1899-1938), and diocesan assessments (1904-1938). Includes letter by Charles Schacht describing church construction (1938), program for 80th anniversary service (1976), and a centennial video (1996).
Source of Acquisition:
Gifts of Charles Schact, Christ Church, Hugh E. Macklin, and J.B. Patrick, Bill and Dorothy Jackson, 1960-1998.
The material is in English.
The 1894-1962 register of services is restricted due to fragile condition. A photocopy is available for research purposes.
Inventory available. Please consult before requesting material.
View finding aid / scanned documents:
Further additions expected.
(M=manuscript; N&P=photos; R=sound recordings; S=slides; F=films)
M-1366, M-1367, M-1368, M-2731, M-2794, M-2845, M-8448, V-56