Central United Church fonds
4 m of textual records. -- 220 photographs. -- 96 architectural plans. -- 4 audio cassettes. -- 1 video cassette
The first Methodist church in Calgary, Alberta was built of logs in 1877 at 6th Avenue and 6th Street SE and sold in 1880. A wood and canvas church was built later east of the Elbow River and was moved to 8th Avenue and 4th Street SE in 1883. A larger frame building was built at 7th Avenue and 1st Street SE in 1884. A new brick church was built in 1889 at 6th Avenue and 2nd Street SW. The first resident ministers were James Turner (1883-1884) and Joshua Dyke (1884-1886). Sunday school classes began in 1884 with James A. Lougheed as superintendent (1884-1888). The Methodist Ladies' Society led by Mrs. W.H. Cushing, and the Blue Ribbon Temperance Society both began in 1885. For a number of years the congregation and the Presbyterian congregation operated a common Sunday school and choir. By 1904 Calgary Methodist Church was a large and important congregation which had a Woman's Missionary Society, a Young Men's Club (Men's Own), and an AOTS (As One That Serves) men's club. To accommodate the growing congregation a new church, Central Methodist, was built at 7th Avenue and 1st Street SW with a seating capacity of 1,300 and dedicated February 1905. Its first minister was George W. Kerby (1903-1911). The church was gutted by fire in 1916, but refurbished and reopened in 1917. The church's name was changed to Central United Church at the time of church union in 1925. A Christian education wing was added in 1948, and a new chapel in 1952. By 1953 Central United was the largest United Church congregation in Canada. For further information see Calgary Central United Church, They Gathered at the River / Central United Church : Calgary, 1975.
Scope and Content:
The fonds consists of records related to church administration, including minutes, correspondence and annual reports (1883-1985); Sunday School (1905-1967); women's groups including Ladies Aid Society and Woman's Missionary Society (1896-1967); men's groups including AOTS and Young Men's Club (1903-1962); memberships (1886-1971); weekly calendars / church bulletins (1912-1976); newsletters (1887-1975); newspaper clippings (1883-1975); History Committee for the church centennial (1974-1975); programs and memorabilia (1897-1979); architectural plans for the church building (1916-1955); financial records (1913-1948); and photographs of the church, members and events ([ca. 1884]-1975. Includes architectural plans for the Moravian Church (1912-1913).
RECORDS RELATED TO THE FOLLOWING SUBJECTS ARE ALSO IN THIS FONDS. SEE INVENTORY FOR DETAILS: MINISTERS: Melville Aitken, George Baines Backus, Joseph E. Ball, Salem Bland, James Cormack, Thomas Crosby, Leon Joseph Desire Doucet, Samuel W. Fallis, John M. Fawcett, James Thompson Ferguson, A.A. Hamilton, Gavin Hamilton, C. Andrew Lawson, Jack T. Lowery, George McDougall, John C. McDougall, Robert P. MacKay, Alexander McLennan, P.K. McRae, Nelson P. Mercer, Robert Erskine Pow, Robert T. Rundle, William Shearer, Gerald Berrn Switzer, Charles Alfred Sykes, Charles B. Templeton, John Edgar Todd. OTHER SUBJECTS: Charles F. Adams, Alberta Military Institute, Alberta Prohibition Association, A.G. Austin, T.D. Barnes, R.B. Bennett, Board of Public Welfare (Calgary), Paul Ralph Brecken, Dr. Thomas Clarke Buchanan, P. Burns and Co., Burrell and McDonnell (architects), Canadian Girls in Training (CGIT), Dr. Florence Chambers, Robert Soutar Christie, J.B. Corley, Council of Social Agencies of Calgary, George W. Craig, Alfred Cuddy, W.H. Cushing, Bella Dunlop, Harry Lyman Flumerfelt, Clinton J. Ford, L.L.Gaetz, Mrs. F.E. Graham, Lloyd B. Graham, Haddin and Miles Ltd., George Ho Lem, Austin Pemberton Horner, Mabel E. Jordan, R.S. Kelly, Dr. George W. Kerby, Lamont hospital, Eula G. Lapp, Gordon Lapp, George Leuschner, Vi Lucas, William D. Lyon, Dr. Robert Henderson McKinnon, McTavish-McKay Ltd., Moravian Church (buildings), Mount Royal College, Percy Lynn Newcombe, North Hill United Church, poetry, Dwight Powell, Dr. Thomas Powell, Rodger Brothers, Searchlight (periodical), Shaver and Graham Ltd., Morris Shumiatcher, James Smart, Stevenson and Dewar (architects), J.M. Stevenson,Cawston and Stevenson (architects), Watson Thomson, Alfred Tennyson Wilkinson, First World War and Second World War (enlistment), Stephen Yee Tong, Morley A.R. Young and Young Men's Christian Association (YMCA).
Source of Acquisition:
Gifts of Central United Church, Mrs. J.D. May and John A. Brown, 1962-1988.
The material is in English.
Originals and Reproductions:
The quarterly board minutes (1883-1914) are also available on microfilm.
No restrictions on access.
Inventory available. Please consult before requesting material.
View finding aid / scanned documents:
Other Central United Church records are held by the Provincial Archives of Alberta.
(M=manuscript; N&P=photos; R=sound recordings; S=slides; F=films)
M-1363, M-1364, M-1365, M-6075, M-6560, M-7054, PA-555, PA-3097, PB-153, PB-752, PE-89, NA-656, ND-31, V-3, RET-20, Microfilm Central United