Calgary Public Museum fonds
18 cm of textual records
The first museum was established in Calgary, Alberta in 1911 through the efforts of Dr. Euston Sisley and the Calgary Natural History Society. Its first home was in a room of the newly-opened Central Park Library. In 1914 it moved to the basement of the Courthouse. In 1927 the CNHS presented the growing museum to the City of Calgary as a trust, and the Calgary Public Museum became an incorporated society in 1928, run by a body of citizens and under the control of city commissioners. Collections were moved to the North West Travellers Building, the acquisition program was revitalized and new displays were set up by curator J.E. Thurston. The museum collections included mounted zoological specimens, dinosaur fossils, native artifacts, minerals and military artifacts. It closed in 1935 due to financial problems. For further information see Sue Baptie's article "The Case of the Missing Museum" in Glenbow [magazine], vol. 5, no 6 (November/December 1972), p. 6-7.
This fonds was part of the Horseman's Hall of Fame collections before being transferred to the Glenbow in 1975.
Scope and Content:
The fonds consists of correspondence, primarily about collections (1911-1936), an accessions register (1928-1929), and visitors books (1928-1933).
RECORDS RELATED TO THE FOLLOWING SUBJECTS ARE ALSO IN THIS FONDS. SEE INVENTORY FOR DETAILS: Alberta Natural History Society, Prof. John A. Allan, G. Allen, A.J. Aylesworth, Barnum Brown, buffalo, Thomas S. Burns, Calgary Horticultural Society, Alexander Calhoun, Earl D. Campbell, Canadian Independent Naturalists Association, W.G. Carpenter, Walter Carter, Cyril Child, Ernest W. Coffin, William E. Cutler, G.F. Dippie, G.R. Dolan, Roy R. Fowler, John A. Grant, P.C. Bernard Hervey, Newton Langford, Benjamin Lawton, Clare Leighton, Prof. Francis J. Lewis, Duncan Marshall, Dr. Herbert H. Moshier, J.A. Munro, Red Deer River, Mary T.S. Schaffer, Ernest Thomson Seton, George E. Wood, and William R. Wright.
Source of Acquisition:
Gift of Carling O'Keefe Breweries, 1964-1975.
The material is in English.
No restrictions on access.
Inventory available. Please consult before requesting material.
View finding aid / scanned documents:
Other records of the Calgary Public Museum are at the City of Calgary Archives.
(M=manuscript; N&P=photos; R=sound recordings; S=slides; F=films)
M 2084, M 2111 files 9-19 and 1 o.s. vol, M 3068