Calgary Board of Education fonds
23.58 m m of textual records. -- 147 photographs. -- 1 microfilm reel
The first school in Calgary, Alberta was established in 1884, although it was not until March 2, 1885 that the North-West Territories Council set up Calgary Protestant Public School District No. 19, after Col. James Walker had circulated a petition. In 1889 a high school was started in Calgary, one of the first two in the North-West Territories. In 1906, when the new provincial government took over responsibility for education, there were 1600 students and 34 teachers in School District No. 19. The word "Protestant" was dropped from the name in 1914, and the district later became known as the Calgary School Board, District No. 19. In 1975 the name was changed to the Calgary Board of Education. The Board, which administers only Calgary's public schools (there is also a Catholic Board of Education) is governed by nine trustees, elected for three year terms. In 1990 there were approximately 200 schools, 4500 teachers, and 85,000 students in the system.
Scope and Content:
The fonds consists of these series: Board minutes (1885-1900 [microfilm copy]); School attendance registers (1889-1949); Secretary-Treasurer's correspondence (1892-1939; School Board and Trustees (1924-1939); Superintendents' correspondence (1918-1935); Various School Board offices (1914-1942); Principals and teachers (1906-1946); School statistics (1907-1948); Term examination reports (1915-1941); Contracts, agreements and grants (1910-1943); Financial records (1892-1930); School-related miscellany (1904-1977); Photographs (1902-1959); and National Council of Education, Calgary Local (1920-1937).
RECORDS RELATED TO THE FOLLOWING SCHOOLS ARE IN THIS FONDS. SEE INVENTORY FOR DETAILS: Alexandra, Balmoral, Bankview, Belfast, Bow View, Bridgeland, Calgary Technical High, Capitol Hill, Central Bungalow, Old Central, New Central, Central, Central Collegiate, Children's Shelter, Cliff Bungalow, Colonel Walker, Commercial High, Connaught, Crescent Heights, Currie, Earl Grey, East Calgary Bungalow, East Calgary High, Elbow Park, Erlton, Glengarry, Glengarry Cottage, Grand Trunk, Haultain, Hillhurst, Hillhurst Cottage, James Short, King Edward, King George, La Grange, Langevin, McDougall, Manchester, Maylands, Mewata Park, Millican, Mount Royal, Mount View, Normal Practice, North Calgary, North Mount Pleasant, North West Ward, Nose Creek, Ogden, Park Hill, Queen's Park, Ramsay, Rideau Park, Riverside, Riverside Bungalow, Sereni Cottage, South Calgary High, South Ward, Stanley Jones, Sunalta, Sunnyside Bungalow, Sunnyside Cottage, Third Avenue, Tuxedo Park, Twenty-fourth Avenue Cottage, Twenty-second Avenue Bungalow, Upper Hillhurst, Victoria, West Mount Pleasant, and Western Canada High.
Source of Acquisition:
Gifts of Calgary School Board, various schools in the district and private collectors, 1962-1991.
The material is in English.
Originals and Reproductions:
The original minute books, 1885-1900, are held by Calgary Board of Education.
No restrictions on access.
Inventory available. Please consult before requesting material.
View finding aid / scanned documents:
Some records of Glenmore School District, which became part of CBE, are in the T. Milton Williams fonds at Glenbow.
(M=manuscript; N&P=photos; R=sound recordings; S=slides; F=films)
M-287, M-821, M-2031, M-2032, M-2033, M-2034, M-2035, M-2036, M-2038, M-2039, M-2040, M-2042, M-2043, M-2582, M-2887, M-2952, M-2988, M-3018, M-3034, M-3048, M-3639, M-3657, M-4516, M-4774, M-6228, M-7039, M-7053, M-7671, M-7751, M-8218, Microfilm CBE, PA-781, PA-1058, PA-1400, PA-1203, PA-3394, PB-227, PB-303, PB-384, PB-390, PC-82, PC-111, NA-613, NA-2764, NA-3254, S-35