Bow Valley Livestock Feeders' Association fonds
63 cm of textual records
Bow Valley Livestock Feeders' Association, the first livestock feeders' association in the Eastern Irrigation District, was started in 1938. Its aim was to purchase livestock for its members to feed, then to sell the animals for the best price. Other associations followed: South Slope Livestock Feeders' Association was incorporated in 1941; Tilley and Rolling Hills Livestock Feeders' Association and East Bow Valley Livestock Feeders' Association were incorporated in 1951. The four associations worked very closely, and for most of their years in operation had Carl J. Anderson as their supervisor. In 1964 Tilley and Rolling Hills, East Bow Valley and Bow Valley amalgamated under the name Bow Valley Livestock Feeders' Association. In 1966 South Slope amalgamated with Bow Valley, and in 1969 Bow Valley amalgamated with Brooks Central Feeders' Association, under the latter name.
Part of the records of BVLFA were held by former supervisor, Carl J. Anderson. The rest were stored at the headquarters of the Bow Slope Shipping Association, whose office space was shared by BVLFA.
Scope and Content:
The fonds consists of articles of association, minutes, feeders' agreements, financial statements, and members' accounts.
Source of Acquisition:
Gifts of Carl J. Anderson and Bow Slope Shipping Association, 1984-1985.
The material is in English.
No restrictions on access.
Inventory available. Please consult before requesting material.
View finding aid / scanned documents:
The records of Brooks Central Feeders' Association, with which BVLFA amalgamated, are also held by Glenbow.
(M=manuscript; N&P=photos; R=sound recordings; S=slides; F=films)
M 6959, files 31-37, M 7121, files 140-166